Diets for Celiac Disease - All You Need to Know and Exciting News
Diets for celiac disease shouldn't include gluten in any amount.
Gluten is the main cause of celiac disease, and people living with this disease should avoid it completely, because it can trigger an allergic reaction, such as upset stomach, hey fever, asthma or eczema.
People with celiac disease should search for professional advice regarding gluten-free diets.
They should be aware of the foods containing hidden gluten (such as additives, stabilizers and preservatives) and read food labels to avoid it.
Eating a variety of fruits and vegetables is very important in order to avoid constipation.
Make sure you're getting enough nutrients and not losing weight.
Support groups can be a good way to stick to gluten-free diet.
And breastfeeding may reduce baby's risk of developing celiac disease.
Here is a list of foods to be avoided:
Gluten free breads and pastas (and other foods) made of rice, corn, potato, bean, amaranth, quinoa, tapioca, sago, flax, arrowroot, buckwheat flour are safe to eat.
It is not sure if people with celiac disease can eat oats or not, so for now they should be avoided unless they are labeled as gluten free.
Most dairy products are also safe to eat and drink, so are wine and distilled liquors and spirits.
Meats (fresh, unprocessed) and fish don't contain gluten either.
Some medications can also contain gluten, so you should make sure to check with your pharmacist and read the labels on the medications you take.
Here are some suggestions for meals:
Up to this point there was little hope that the people suffering from Celiac will ever have completely normal lives once again.
Gluten is the main cause of celiac disease, and people living with this disease should avoid it completely, because it can trigger an allergic reaction, such as upset stomach, hey fever, asthma or eczema.
People with celiac disease should search for professional advice regarding gluten-free diets.
They should be aware of the foods containing hidden gluten (such as additives, stabilizers and preservatives) and read food labels to avoid it.
Eating a variety of fruits and vegetables is very important in order to avoid constipation.
Make sure you're getting enough nutrients and not losing weight.
Support groups can be a good way to stick to gluten-free diet.
And breastfeeding may reduce baby's risk of developing celiac disease.
Here is a list of foods to be avoided:
- Wheat
- Barley
- Bulgur and farina (both types of cereal made from wheat)
- Graham flour
- Rye
- Durum, including semolina and kamut
- Spelt (a type of wheat)
- Wheat germ and starch
- Malt and foods containing malt extracts or flavorings
- Breads
- Pastas
- Cookies, cakes and candies
- Sauces, gravies and salad dressings
- Soups
- Cereals
- Crackers
- Beer
- Oats
Gluten free breads and pastas (and other foods) made of rice, corn, potato, bean, amaranth, quinoa, tapioca, sago, flax, arrowroot, buckwheat flour are safe to eat.
It is not sure if people with celiac disease can eat oats or not, so for now they should be avoided unless they are labeled as gluten free.
Most dairy products are also safe to eat and drink, so are wine and distilled liquors and spirits.
Meats (fresh, unprocessed) and fish don't contain gluten either.
Some medications can also contain gluten, so you should make sure to check with your pharmacist and read the labels on the medications you take.
Here are some suggestions for meals:
- Cereal made from hominy, rice, millet, cornmeal, quinoa, or buckwheat
- Milk and dairy products (except for frozen and fruit yogurt)
- All vegetables (except for breaded vegetables and canned baked beans)
- All fruits and fruit juices (avoiding dried fruit)
- All meats, fish, eggs (without breading, stabilizers or fillers)
- All nuts, peanut butter, soybeans
Up to this point there was little hope that the people suffering from Celiac will ever have completely normal lives once again.
Source...