Gluten Free Vegan Foods

104 6
    • Staying gluten free and vegan requires careful meal planning.wheat image by Artur Ciba from Fotolia.com

      Any food that contains wheat, rye, barley, wheat and rye-based flour or muesli has gluten in it. Many people cannot eat gluten-based foods due to allergies or conditions like celiac disease.. Vegans, or strict vegetarians, also do not eat any food that contains gluten, either because of a personal choice or dietary restrictions. Maintaining a gluten free vegan diet requires careful planning, but it is not impossible.

    Breakfast

    • Although eggs and most dairy products are gluten free, vegans do not eat them because they are derived from animals. Instead, vegans use substitutes that include soy cheese, non-dairy vegan margarine and soy or rice milk. For eggs, either tofu or a mixture of applesauce and bananas can be used as a more than adequate replacement. Coffee, tea, jam, marmalade, tapioca, rice pudding and fruit are also on the gluten free breakfast menu.

    Lunch

    • Lunch presents many different exciting options for vegans. Popular favorites include 3 bean chili, buffalo tempeh and shepherd's pie (using soy and non-dairy substitutes as well as vegetarian gravy and burger crumbles). Another appetizing lunch option is the vegan-friendly falafel (ground chickpea ball) either stuffed inside pita bread or served with hummus, which is a spreadable mix of garlic, tahini, chickpeas, oil and lemon juice.

    Dinner

    • Serve up gluten free vegan peanut stir fry, acorn squash, black bean burritos or spinach lasagna for starters. If you are a vegan, you can enjoy a delicious plate of ratatouille, a stewed vegetable dish that uses vegetable broth, is equally delicious whether it is served hot or cold.

Source...
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.